www.ukengineforum.forumotion.com
Please log in , the forum is open to guests who are now able to view most sections, feel free to become a member , you will then be able to post and reply to topics.

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

www.ukengineforum.forumotion.com
Please log in , the forum is open to guests who are now able to view most sections, feel free to become a member , you will then be able to post and reply to topics.

New member needing help with a Petter M!

2 posters

Go down

New member needing help with a Petter M! Empty New member needing help with a Petter M!

Post by michael.aldworth Mon Mar 18 2013, 22:13

Hi everyone,
I'm new to all this high tec forum stuff - it took me ages to find my way to this page to make this my first post !
I have started to have a look at a Petter Junior, 3 hp, Ser No 54008, made in 1923. It last ran about 25 years ago. The piston had no rings when I took it out, which I found a bit unusual, given that it was running that time long ago!
However I now have rings ready to be put on, but before I replace the piston, need to know if the space of about 1/8th" between the atomiser & the piston is acceptable.
When taking off the mag, which has a spark unbelievably, I did not make a note of the position of the gear wheel on the mag shaft. There does not seem to be any guidance re the position of the gear wheel.
Can anyone help with these queries?
Michael.

michael.aldworth

Back to top Go down

New member needing help with a Petter M! Empty Re: New member needing help with a Petter M!

Post by fowlerfan Mon Mar 18 2013, 22:29

There are a couple of people on other sites far more knowledgable on Petter M's than me but I will try to help initially.

You need to visit here http://www.petternut.co.uk/pettermtypesettings.htm

This will tell you a lot of what you need to know. (atomiser gap and timing) Your engine is a VA model.